PDA

View Full Version : The 40 Worst Rob Liefeld Drawings

JohniBi
Apr 8, 2009, 7:20 AM
http://progressiveboink.com/archive/robliefeld.html
Rob Liefeld, once hailed for his "unique" style of drawing comics, but now reviled as one of the worst figures in comic history. His "style" which used weird pencil lines, exaggerated anatomy, and impossible angles was "refreshing" when it first came out. However after he became popular, every comics artist was trying to copy him. It was then that we learned the truth, Rob Liefeld was "self taught" his "unique style" was just him not having the slightest clue about the basic principals of art. Once everyone was doing what he was doing, we see that his work was inferior to the work that the people who copied him did. Rob Liefeld, at once the worst, and the most influential artist in comics. The world will always hate you Rob.

evilpanda
Apr 8, 2009, 10:41 AM
i was a liefield fan for a while, but more because of his creations than his actual artwork. yes, i remember seeing wolverine and cable on the covers and thinking, man, those limbs bend awkwardly and those faces all look alike.

but, i love cable, deadpool and x-force, all of which are liefield originals. cable was great and had some truly terrific villains in Stryfe and Genesis. and don't get me started on Deadpool; he's funny as shit. fuck ryan reynolds, bruce campbell all the way, muthafucka.

then again, liefield caused rights issues with the characters he created, forcing them to be changed into neutered knockoffs Agent X, Soldier X and Xstatix. lame.

Bi-Zarro
Apr 8, 2009, 1:21 PM
Worst Comics Artist Ever.

JohniBi
Apr 8, 2009, 10:28 PM
Worst Comics Artist Ever.

I know. It's so Ironic the way people mistook his short comings as an artist as "stylistic license". Of course the quote about the sword doesn't sit well with me either.

ziggybabie
Apr 9, 2009, 3:12 PM